SAVE THE DATE: SIPN2 Webinar "2021 Sea Ice Outlook Post-Season Review"

Betsy Turner-Bogren September 17, 2021

The Sea Ice Prediction Network-Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces an upcoming webinar and discussion: 2021 Sea Ice Outlook Post-Season Review.

This event will be held on Monday, 11 October 2021.

Starting time for the 90-minute webinar is: 9:00 a.m. (AKDT), 10:00 a.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (MDT), 12:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (EDT), 5:00 p.m. (UTC), and 7:00 pm (CET).

This webinar will provide a post-season review of the 2021 Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) with three 10-minute presentations from members of the SIPN2 Project Team including:

- An overview of observed conditions during the 2021 Arctic sea-ice retreat season,
- A summary of how the sea-ice extent predictions contributed to the SIO performed in comparison to the observed September monthly mean extent, and
- An overview of lessons learned from the SIPN2 project.

Twenty minutes for open discussion will follow each of the three presentations.

This webinar is designed for the sea-ice research community and others interested in information about sea-ice forecasting. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

Further details, including registration instructions, will be announced closer to the event. The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

For questions, contact Betsy Turner-Bogren, ARCUS (betsy@arcus.org).

Request an account

Join scientists from Federal, State, academic, NGO, and industry organizations working to accelerate the progress of Arctic research.

Membership suggestions are subject to approval and adherence to the IARPC Collaborations codes of conduct.

IARPC
Contact

Liz Weinberg
Web Manager & Community Coordinator
liz@iarpccollaborations.org
(503) 893-8910