U.S. Forum for the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

The U.S. delegation to IASC aims to increase two-way communication with the US Arctic research community through IARPC Collaborations.

Scope of activities

IASC is a nongovernmental scientific organization established to encourage and facilitate international consultation and cooperation in all aspects of arctic research, in all countries engaged in arctic research, and in all areas of the arctic region. The mission is to encourage, facilitate, and promote basic and applied interdisciplinary research in or concerned with the Arctic at a circumarctic or international level and to provide scientific advice on arctic issues. IASC is multidisciplinary, covering the full range of natural and social sciences. Working Groups, composed of representatives appointed by their countries to cover specific disciplinary issues, provide the main forums for developing IASC scientific programs and activities. 

Team leaders

Larry Hinzman
Office of Science and Technology Policy

Matthew Druckenmiller
International Arctic Science Committee (Website)


The U.S. delegation to IASC aims to increase two-way communication with the US Arctic research community through the use of the IARPC Collaborations website. To access the forum and contribute to IASC updates, documents, and events, please request an account on our member space

IASC President
Dr. Larry D. Hinzman, White House Office of Science & Technology Policy

Acting U.S. Delegate
Dr. Matthew Druckenmiller, National Snow and Ice Data Center, University of Colorado Boulder

Terrestrial Working Group

  • Dr. Michelle Mack, Northern Arizona University
  • Dr. Vladimir Romanovsky, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Cryosphere Working Group

  • Dr. Robert Hawley, Dartmouth College
  • Dr. Cathy Wilson, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Cryosphere Working Group Fellows

  • Dr. Alice Bradley, Williams College
  • Dr. Sammie Buzzard, Georgia Tech

Marine Working Group

Dr. Lee Cooper, University of Maryland
  • Dr. Karen Frey, Clark University

Atmosphere Working Group

  • Dr. Muyin Wang, University of Washington
  • Dr. Gijs de Boer, University of Colorado and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Social and Human Working Group

  • Dr. Lawrence Hamilton, University of New Hampshire
  • Dr. Andrey Petrov, University of Northern Iowa
Request an account

Join scientists from Federal, State, academic, NGO, and industry organizations working to accelerate the progress of Arctic research.

Membership suggestions are subject to approval and adherence to the IARPC Collaborations codes of conduct.


Liz Weinberg
Web Manager & Community Coordinator
(503) 893-8910