About the plan and participants

About the National Science and Technology Council

The National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) is the principal means by which the Executive Branch coordinates science and technology policy across the diverse entities that make up the Federal research and development (R&D) enterprise. One of the NSTC’s primary objectives is establishing clear national goals for Federal science and technology investments. The NSTC prepares R&D packages aimed at accomplishing multiple national goals. The NSTC’s work is organized under five committees: Environment, Natural Resources, and Sustainability; Homeland and National Security; Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Education; Science; and Technology. Each of these committees oversees subcommittees and working groups that are focused on different aspects of science and technology. More information is available at www.WhiteHouse.gov/ostp/nstc.

About the Office of Science and Technology Policy

The Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) was established by the National Science and Technology Policy, Organization, and Priorities Act of 1976. OSTP’s responsibilities include advising the President in policy formulation and budget development on questions in which science and technology are important elements; articulating the President’s science and technology policy and programs; and fostering strong partnerships among Federal, state, and local governments, and the scientific communities in industry and academia. The Director of OSTP also serves as Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and manages the NSTC. More information is available at www.WhiteHouse.gov/ostp.

About the Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee

The Arctic Research and Policy Act of 1984 (ARPA) Public Law 98-373, July 31, 1984, as amended by Public Law 101-609, November 16, 1990, provides for a comprehensive national policy dealing with national research needs and objectives in the Arctic. The ARPA establishes a U.S. Arctic Research Commission (USARC) and an Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee (IARPC) to help implement the Act. IARPC was formally created by Executive Order 12501. Its activities have been coordinated by the National Science Foundation (NSF), with the Director of the NSF as chair. On July 22, 2010, President Obama issued a memorandum for the Director of the OSTP making NSTC responsible for the IARPC with the director of the NSF remaining as the chair of the committee.

About this Document

This report was developed by the IARPC which reports to the NSTC Committee on the Environment, Natural Resources and Sustainability (CENRS). This report is published by OSTP.

Copyright Information

This document is a work of the United States Government and is in the public domain (see 17 U.S.C. §105). Subject to the stipulations below, it may be distributed and copied with acknowledgement to OSTP. Copyrights to graphics included in this document are reserved by the original copyright holders or their assignees and are used here under the government’s license and by permission. Requests to use any images must be made to the provider identified in the image credits or to OSTP if no provider is identified.

Request an account

Join scientists from Federal, State, academic, NGO, and industry organizations working to accelerate the progress of Arctic research.

Membership suggestions are subject to approval and adherence to the IARPC Collaborations code of conduct.

IARPC Collaborations

Liz Weinberg
Web Manager & Community Coordinator
(503) 893-8910