Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026: Implementation

The Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026 is a high-level research strategy to address emerging research questions about the Arctic. The plan presents a shift from previous Arctic research plans, where the focus was primarily on environmental processes, to also address societal issues that require a more complex, multidisciplinary approach.

To support flexibility, the plan will be implemented via two-year implementation plans. These plans will include objectives (specific research actions that advance the goals) and deliverables (tangible, measurable, and easily communicated research products that demonstrate progress made toward the objectives and goals).

IARPC is currently working to develop the first biennial implementation plan.

Planning process

From January to March 2022, we held public meetings to build connections among non-federal researchers, community members, and organizations. These meetings solicited ideas on topics to be pursued within each priority area. Ideas generated during this time inform the federal development of the first biennial implementation plan.

From April to August 2022, federal teams will draft the biennial implementation plan and agencies will work together to clear the plan.

In October 2022, the first biennial implementation plan will be released, and it will be implemented through October 2024. At that point, a second biennial implementation plan will be developed.

implementation timeline

Timeline by which the biennial implementation plans will be developed, implemented, evaluated, and updated. (Graphic derived from Figure 4, Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026; updated April 2022 )


The Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026 is driven by four priority areas (Community Resilience and Health; Arctic Systems Interactions, Sustainable Economies and Livelihoods, and Risk Management and Hazard Mitigation) and five foundational activities (Data Management; Education, Training, and Capacity Building; Monitoring, Observing, Modeling, and Prediction; Participatory Research and Indigenous Leadership in Research; and Technology Innovation and Application).

Under the new biennial implementation plan, four new priority area teams will be established to direct and coordinate activities. These multidisciplinary teams will be co-chaired by at least two federal program managers and one non-federal partner. They will draw on federal agency and collaboration team expertise to achieve their goals. Foundational activity teams will also be established to align activities of the priority area teams with the plan’s foundational activities.

The existing IARPC disciplinary collaboration teams are vital communities of practice in their fields and remain critical to the implementation of the Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026. IARPC teams will continue to work together to advance disciplinary Arctic research, as well as to contribute to priority area goals. New teams may be established to build collaboration and expertise in areas where there has historically been little IARPC engagement.

a schematic showing that priority area collaboration teams will be supported by federal agencies, partners, disciplinary collaboration teams, and foundational activity teams.

Sample schematic of the organizational structure supporting priority areas. (Figure 3, Arctic Research Plan 2022-2026)

Transition Teams

Biennial Implementation Plan Steering Committee

Greg Anderson (National Science Foundation)
Larry Hinzman (Office of Science and Technology Policy/IARPC)
Sorina Stalla (IARPC)
Alyson Azzara (Dept. of Transportation)
Kaja Brix (Dept. of Commerce)
Cathy Coon (Dept. of the Interior)
Eric Gottshall (Dept. of Defense)
Janet Intrieri (Dept. of Commerce)
Sally McFarlane (Dept. of Energy)
Dee Williams (Dept. of the Interior)

Priority Area Transition Team Co-Leads

Community Resilience and Health

David Payer (Dept. of the Interior)
Xoco Shinbrot (National Science Foundation)
Suzanne van Drunick (Environmental Protection Agency)

Arctic Systems Interactions

David Allen (Dept. of Commerce)
Mike Falkowski (NASA)
Allen Pope (National Science Foundation)
Scott Harper (Dept. of Defense)
Renu Joseph (Dept. of Energy)
David Legler (Dept. of Commerce)

Sustainable Economies and Livelihoods

George Roe (Dept. of Energy)
Erik Obrien (Denali Commission)

Risk Management and Hazard Mitigation

Steve Gray (Dept. of the Interior)
John Vehmeyer (Dept. of Homeland Security)
Thomas Douglas (Dept. of Defense)

Foundational Activity Transition Teams

Data Management

Michael Brady (Dept. of Homeland Security)

Education, Training, and Capacity Building

Kaja Brix (Dept. of Commerce)
Lisa Rom (National Science Foundation)

Monitoring, Observing, Modeling, and Prediction

Xujing Davis (Dept. of Energy)
Sally McFarlane (Dept. of Energy)

Participatory Research & Indigenous Leadership in Research

Maija Lukin (Dept. of the Interior)
Crystal Leonetti (Dept. of the Interior)

Technology Innovation & Application

Jonathan Blythe (Dept. of the Interior)

Request an account

Join scientists from Federal, State, academic, NGO, and industry organizations working to accelerate the progress of Arctic research.

Membership suggestions are subject to approval and adherence to the IARPC Collaborations code of conduct.

IARPC Collaborations

Liz Weinberg
Web Manager & Community Coordinator
(503) 893-8910